Indiana University at Bloomington

The Sixth Midwest Computational Linguistics Colloquium 2009
at Indiana University Bloomington

Quick Info
Call for papers
Local Information
Contact Information

MCLC at IU Bloomington

May 2-3, 2009

MCLC offers a less formal forum for computational linguistics researchers to get together and present ideas and research results. It is intended to be primarily for researchers from the Midwest region, but applications from all regions are welcome. We particularly welcome work in progress from graduate students and other young researchers. The first meeting of MCLC was successfully held at Indiana University, Bloomington in 2004, and we're pleased to bring it back to Indiana.


Registration will be free.


The conference will take place in Ballantine Hall, room 006 on the IUB campus.
Campus map


Click here to see information about accommodations in and around Bloomington and other local information. A number of rooms have been reserved at two local hotels at a special rate, but reservations must be made by April 10, 2009.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline: March 27, 2009
Notification of acceptance: April 6, 2009
Deadline to reserve rooms at the special rate: April 10, 2009
Final papers due: April 24, 2009
Colloquium: May 2-3, 2009


Authors of accepted abstracts will be invited (but not required) to submit a 4-8 page full paper using the ACL style files for the proceedings. Copyright of a submitted paper remains with the author(s).

Program Committee

Steve Abney, University of Michigan
Helen Aristar-Dry, Institute for Language and Information Technology
Chris Brew, Ohio State University
Barbara Di Eugenio, University of Illinois at Chicago
Mike Gasser, Indiana University
Roxana Girju, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
John Goldsmith, University of Chicago
Julia Hockenmaier, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Stefan Kaufmann, Northwestern University
Brett Kessler, Washington University in St. Louis
Larry Moss, Indiana University
Ted Pedersen, University of Minnesota at Duluth
Victor Raskin, Purdue University
Jason Riggle, University of Chicago
Jim Rogers, Earlham College
William Schuler, University of Minnesota
Chilin Shih, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Mike White, Ohio State University

Organizing Committee

Markus Dickinson, Indiana University
Sandra Kuebler, Indiana University

Contact Information

Email questions to: